The University shall primarily provide advanced education, professional, technological and vocational instruction in agriculture, fisheries, forestry, science, engineering, industrial technologies, teacher education, medicine, law, arts and sciences, information technology and the other related fields. It shall also undertaken research and extension services and provides progressive leadership in its areas of specialization.